Religious Rules

Religious Customs, Rites and Rules

Protestant Churches were the first to approve cremation. Their rationale was that “God can resurrect a bowl of ashes just as conveniently as He can resurrect a bowl of dust” The development and building of modern crematoria in Protestant countries occurred in the 1870s.

The Roman Catholic Church lifted its ban on cremations in the 1960s. In 1997, the church specified a requirement for the reverent disposition of ashes; to be buried or to be entombed in an appropriate container, such as an urn.

We perform Hindu Faith Cremations following the Pooja Service rites.

Religions permitting Cremation: Asatru, Buddism, Christianity- (Baptist Church, Calvinism, Church of England, Church of Ireland, Church of Scotland, Church in Wales, Lutheranism, Methodism, Morovian Church, Roman Catholicism, Salvation Army, Scottish Episcopal Church), Christian Science, The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, Hare Krishna, Hinduism- (mandatory except for sanyasis, i.e., monks and children under five), Jainism, Jehovah Witnesses, Liberal Judaism, Seventh-day Adventist Church, Sikh, Society of Friends- (Quakers), Unitarian Universalism

site image

In this section

Choosing Cremation


Religious Rules

Options and Price List

© 2022 Sax-Tiedemann Funeral Home. All Rights Reserved. Funeral Home website by CFS & TA | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Accessibility